Six New Business Leaders Join SBC's Advisory Board

Published on:
by KnowESG

The Sustainable Business Council (SBC) recently announced that it had successfully elected six new renowned business leaders to its Advisory Board.

The new members are Chris Aughton (CEO, EnviroNZ), Angela Busby (Chief Strategy Officer, AIA), Neeraj Lala (CEO, Toyota NZ), Laura Scampion (Country Managing Partner, DLA Piper), Simon Tucker (Director of Global Sustainability, Stakeholder Affairs and Trade, Fonterra Cooperative Group), and Amanda Whiting (CEO, IAG NZ).

SBC Executive Director Mike Burrell said: 

"The SBC Advisory Board plays a critical role in providing guidance and input into the work we do. We are very pleased to be welcoming such a high calibre of business leaders, representing a cross-section of New Zealand sectors, to the Board.

"2022 is a milestone year for sustainability in Aotearoa with the delivery of the country’s first Emissions Reduction Plan and National Adaptation Plan. The experience and passion of these new board members, alongside our existing members, will have a significant impact as we continue to work to secure a zero-carbon future where nature, business, and people, can thrive.”

SBC has also announced the appointment of Gareth Marriott (Australia and New Zealand Managing Director of global facilities management services company, OCS) to the role of Chair.

“I’m a firm believer that one business or one person doesn’t have all the answers. If we are going to affect real change to leave our communities and our planet in a better place, we need to work collaboratively,” says Mr. Marriott.

“Working with like-minded leaders and the team at the Sustainable Business Council provides an opportunity to connect, commit, learn, and lead. We have a responsibility to Aotearoa New Zealand to advocate at the highest levels for change to improve outcomes for the next generation – I’m excited to be part of the way forward.”

SBC also thanked its departing board members, former Chair Karen Silk, outgoing Chair Marc England, Malcolm Johns, Peter Simons, and Wayne McNee, for their great contributions during their tenures.

Source: SBC

For more social and governance news